curtis logo

Curtis Memorial Library at the Tom Settlemire Community Garden

Thanks to the generosity of the Brunswick-Topsham Land Trust, Curtis Memorial Library is pleased to host a series of hands-on workshops at the Tom Settlemire Community Garden.

Join us as we try out varied methods of cultivation, create vertical growing structures, extend our season, and more!

Unless otherwise noted, all programs will take place at the garden. The Tom Settlemire Community Garden is at the end of Maurice Drive in Brunswick, Maine. (For GPS use 90 Maurice Drive.)

Please join us for the following workshops:

Garden Labels

Wednesday, July 12, 1 PM – 3 PM

Create a variety of garden labels that will last for multiple seasons


Prepare Your Soil

Monday July 17, 2 PM – 3 PM

Revitalize tired garden beds for planting, sheet mulch, and prepare pots


Vertical Garden

Tuesday July 18, 10 AM – 11 AM

Create a variety of vertical garden support structures


Planting Permablitz

Thursday July 20, 10 AM – 11 AM

Plant a Maine Literary Garden, cover crops, and traditional edibles


Pest Management

Monday August 7, 3 PM – 4 PM

Add to our bug museum and utilize homemade deterrents and sprays


Winter Garden Design

Thursday August 17, 10 AM – 11 AM

Learn strategies to utilize or preserve our garden in the winter


Season Extension

Wednesday, September 13, 1 PM – 2 PM

Make a number of devices to extend our growing season


Seed Saving

Tuesday September 19, 10 AM – 11 AM

Learn to save seeds for use next year


Preserving the Harvest

Monday, October 16, 2 PM – 3 PM

Explore techniques to preserve fruits and vegetables for months to come


Perennial Propagation

Thursday, October 19, 10 AM – 11 AM

Learn how to replicate and share your favorite plants


* All cancelations will be announced on the library’s website. If applicable, alternative dates and times will be posted.

contact us
contact us
hours and holidays
directions
donate
library newsletter
job opportunites