Schedule of Events

The following is our preliminary schedule of programs for the next year of Money Works for Women. Most programs will be followed by a meeting of the Investment Education Club at which we’ll provide worksheets & “how-to-get-started” tips for the topics discussed by the speaker.

Unless noted otherwise all meetings will be in the Morrell Meeting Room at Curtis Memorial Library.

The books for the book discussion groups will be purchased by the library for all attendees.

Workshops will be scheduled from 5:30 p.m. to 8:00 p.m. to allow for a more in-depth discussion of the topic.

Date/Time Topic
Wed., May 18, 5:30 Financial wellness
Thurs., June 2, 6:30 Buying your first car
Thurs., June 16, 5:30 Starting out in investing – what do I do?
Wed., July 20, 5:30 Investing: How do I know what’s right for me?? (by age, risk level, $ investment level, etc.)
Wed., Aug. 10, 5:30 Book discussion group: Women and Money / by Suze Orman
Wed., Sept. 14, 5:30 INVESTMENT FRAUD workshop
Wed., Oct. 12, 5:30 Investing: When and who to ask for help
Wed., Oct. 19, 5:30 RETIREMENT workshop part 1
Wed., Nov. 9, 5:30 Investing: How can I do my own research?
Wed., Nov. 16, 5:30 RETIREMENT workshop part 2
Wed., Dec. 14, 5:30 Book discussion group: The New Frugality: How To Consume Less, Save More, and Live Better by Chris Farrell
Wed., Jan. 11, 5:30 Personal finance: Getting Ready for Income Taxes
Wed., Feb. 8, 5:30 Book discussion group: Your Money, Your Brain / by Jason Zweig
Wed., Feb. 15, 5:30 PSYCHOLOGY OF MONEY workshop
Wed., Mar. 14, 5:30 Personal finance and investing: A look at credit and debt management