curtis library logo
home | my account

Mystery Author Amy Ray – Tuesday October 4, 7 PM

Posted by Michael Gorzka on September 29th, 2016

dangerous-denialPresentation and book signing by Amy Ray, author of Dangerous Denial.

Denying the past proves deadly for BK Hartshaw and Trevor Mayhew in this gripping noir novel where nothing is as it seems. BK is a rising star at a public relations firm, and tonight’s charity ball should be a high point in her career. But a closely guarded secret threatens to destroy her chance for happiness with the only man she’s ever loved… a man who is also hiding a deadly secret. Trevor has tried to put the past behind him, pretending it never happened. But the conniving father he’s been running from for years has finally found him—and is determined to settle the score once and for all. BK and Trevor’s deeply buried secrets are about to catch up with them—and everyone they know and love. Who will pay the ultimate price for their dangerous denials?

Publisher’s Weekly reviewed the novel as part of the ABNA contest, saying:

The sins of the parents are visited upon their children in this entertaining thriller. BK’s (short for Beatrice Karen) and Trevor’s lives collide when a charity ball erupts into violence. Tightly plotted suspenseful moments and a deftly-executed plot twist combine to keep readers holding onto this novel until the wee hours.

Day & Time: Tuesday October 4th, 7 PM

Location: Morrell Meeting Room

Contact: Pamela Bobker 725-5242 X214 |

Mystery Author Maureen Milliken Book Talk – Tuesday, September 20, 7 PM

Posted by Michael Gorzka on September 14th, 2016

no news is bad newsMark your calendars and join us for a fascinating evening as we continue the 2016 Mystery Author Series with multi-faceted writer Maureen Milliken. 

Maureen writes about what she knows and what she loves: newspapers and Maine. As a third generation newspaper editor, she portrays her protagonist, Bernie O’Dea, with a realism that can’t be matched. She also paints Maine with a strong and loving brush. The reader can almost smell the decaying leaves on the ground and feel the sweltering humidity of the Maine summer.

With masterful use of flashbacks and step backs, Milliken braids three time lines into a single strong story that grabs the reader’s attention and doesn’t let it go.

Bernie as owner of the local weekly newspaper, and Pete Novotny, the Chief of Police, can’t avoid each other. It’s part of their jobs to interact. It makes some awkward moments as Bernie can’t always remember where the relationship is at any given moment. It’s hard enough getting through life with adult ADHD without complicating things with remembering if they’re friends, more than friends, of if Pete’s mad at her and would rather not answer questions—even those about the bizarre murder.

Speaking of murder, where’s the rest of the body anyway?

Free refreshments will be provided by the Bohemian Coffee House, and Gulf of Maine will have copies of Ms. Milliken’s book for sale.

Milliken is a good storyteller and Bernie O’Dea is a terrific character.
— Bookconscious

Day & Time: Tuesday, September 20, 7 PM – 9 PM

Location: Morrell Meeting Room

Contact: Pamela Bobker 725-5242 ext. 214

Next authors in the series will be:

Tuesday, October 4, 7 PM:  Amy Ray

Tuesday, October 18, 7 PM:  Chris Holm

New Books added to Bestseller Express

Posted by Pamela Bobker on September 12th, 2016

Hurry in to the library – we have the hottest bestsellers!


Apprentice in Death by J. D. Robb

Behold the Dreamers by Imbolo Mbue

Bright, Precious Days by Jay McInerney

Dear Mr. M by Herman Koch

The Fortunes by Peter Ho Davies

Harmony by Carolyn Parkhurst

The Jealous Kind by James Lee Burke

Leave Me by Gayle Forman

Razor Girl by Carl Hiaasen

The Risen by Ron Rash

The Underground Railroad by Colson Whitehead

White Bone by Ridley Pearson


Sponsored by Curtis Friends, Bestseller Express titles are available on a first-come, first-served basis and can be checked out for 7 days. Exclusively for Curtis cardholders, they cannot be reserved or renewed so you’ll have the best access to new titles, but you will have to read fast. The Bestseller Express books are located in the New Books Room, across from Lending Services.

image image image